Rwanda · Residency by investment

High Net Worth Individual Permanent Residence (Law nº 006/2021)

Proposed Last verified July 2026Unconfirmed

Nominally in law, administratively unimplemented. Article 2(22) of the Investment Law defines a 'high net worth individual' as one investing USD 1,000,000 in a registered priority-sector project or acquiring high-end property of at least USD 500,000, and says such persons 'are eligible to be granted permanent residence status upon fulfilling eligibility criteria determined by the relevant laws'. No such criteria exist: the governing Ministerial Order on Immigration lists permanent residence classes L-1 to L-7 exhaustively, with no investor class, and Rwanda's own immigration portal quotes no USD threshold at all. This is a statutory aspiration without machinery.

Rwanda has spent a decade marketing itself as Africa's next Singapore, and the investment law genuinely promises HNWIs permanent residence. But the promise has no delivery mechanism. The widely circulated USD 250,000 figure, often described as a threshold, is a misreading. It buys three work permits, not residence. Anyone selling KIFC residency is inventing a product.

Qualifying routes

$500k
High-end property acquisition

Per Article 2(22) of Law nº 006/2021.

$1M
Priority-sector project investment

A registered project in a priority sector.

$250k
Three work permits without labour-market test

This is not a residence route. The figure is widely misquoted. In reality, it only lets a registered investor bring in three foreign employees without having to prove the skills are unavailable locally.

The facts

Minimum investment
$500k
Total landed cost
Official fees are trivial. The RDB certificate costs USD 500, permits run RWF 150,000, permanent residence is RWF 300,000, and dependants pay half. The real cost is the investment itself. Neither a family-of-four total nor a processing timeline is published.
Route type
Residency by investment
Physical presence
Not specified.
Family
Spouse and dependants qualify at half fees
Permanent residency
This is nominally the permanent residence route. No implementing ministerial order could be located.
Citizenship
Nationality comes 5 years after permanent residence. A separate route exists for what the law calls substantial and sustainable investment, with a RWF 10,000 fee and a 6-month timeline. But the qualifying threshold is published nowhere. It is decided by ministry letter. Ordinary naturalisation by residence is 15 years, raised from 5.
Language test
none identified
Dual citizenship
Permitted
Requirements
An RDB investment certificateUSD 500,000 invested in high-end property, or USD 1,000,000 in a priority-sector projectA clean record
What can go wrong
  • The USD 250,000 figure that circulates as Rwanda's residency threshold is not a residence route at all. It waives the labour-market test for three foreign employees. The real figures in the Investment Law are USD 500,000 for property and USD 1,000,000 for a project. Even those lead to a permanent residence status that no immigration instrument actually delivers.
  • The Ministerial Order on Immigration lists PR classes L-1 to L-7 exhaustively, and none of them is an investor class. The Investment Law's promise remains unimplemented.
  • KIFC offers no residency product whatsoever. Anyone marketing KIFC residency is inventing it.
  • The family-office rate is 15%, not 3%. Wealth management, family office services, private banking, trust and company services and fund management all sit in that 15% cluster. A client told they can get a 3% family office rate in Kigali is being misled. The 3% rate applies only to pure holding companies, SPVs and collective schemes.
  • The KIFC personal exemption covers foreign-source income for 5 years, but only if you are employed at a licensed entity. A passive HNWI investor does not qualify.
  • The tax residence trap is severe. Residence triggers on having a permanent residence in Rwanda, meaning a home where the taxpayer usually stays. Buying the USD 500k property to obtain HNWI status may itself create Rwandan tax residence. Rwanda taxes residents on worldwide income at 30%.
  • Substance requirements are heavy. At least 30% of professional staff must be Rwandan, at least 25% of directors must be resident, and at least 50% of the board must be physically present in Rwanda.
  • Naturalisation by residence now takes 15 years, up from 5. The investment route's threshold is published nowhere. It is decided by ministry letter, which means pure discretion.
  • Kigali fell 7 places to rank 72 in GFCI 39 (March 2026), with a reputational advantage of −72, among the worst in the index alongside Moscow and Lagos. In GFCI 35 it was cited for its reputational advantage. That has now reversed.
  • On 3 March 2026 the United States sanctioned the Rwanda Defence Force and four senior officers over M23. The UK paused bilateral aid in February 2025. This is a live geopolitical risk, not background noise.
Sources (3)

Path to permanent residence and citizenship

Permanent residency. This is nominally the permanent residence route. No implementing ministerial order could be located.

Citizenship. Nationality comes 5 years after permanent residence. A separate route exists for what the law calls substantial and sustainable investment, with a RWF 10,000 fee and a 6-month timeline. But the qualifying threshold is published nowhere. It is decided by ministry letter. Ordinary naturalisation by residence is 15 years, raised from 5.

Language test. none identified

Dual citizenship. Permitted

Frequently asked

How long until citizenship through the High Net Worth Individual Permanent Residence (Law nº 006/2021)?

Nationality comes 5 years after permanent residence. A separate route exists for what the law calls substantial and sustainable investment, with a RWF 10,000 fee and a 6-month timeline. But the qualifying threshold is published nowhere. It is decided by ministry letter. Ordinary naturalisation by residence is 15 years, raised from 5. A language requirement applies: none identified.

What does the High Net Worth Individual Permanent Residence (Law nº 006/2021) cost?

The minimum qualifying investment is $500k. Official fees are trivial. The RDB certificate costs USD 500, permits run RWF 150,000, permanent residence is RWF 300,000, and dependants pay half. The real cost is the investment itself. Neither a family-of-four total nor a processing timeline is published.

How much time must I spend in Rwanda?

Not specified.

Who can I include in the application?

Spouse and dependants qualify at half fees.

Before you commit capital to this

Tell us your citizenship, your tax exposure and where your family wants to be in ten years. If this route is wrong for you, we will say so.

Book a consultation